Tears are weird.

I had this plan to go to bed early, and therefore, get up early. The purpose of this early rising would be to heartily accomplish a list of things that, if completed, would lighten the mental oppression I feel about said list existing. You can relate, I’m sure.
I realized that I’m still staring at the glow in the dark stars on my ceiling because I had a nap earlier in the day. Oho! Head start on sleep = blog post!

Ok that was a ridiculously long intro. The topic tonight is about crying.

Sadtumblr_md7n3qb5hT1ro8cnpo1_500
I’m totally going to bring back gifs. It’ll be MySpace all over again. But cooler. You know, without the MySpace part.

I’ll keep it somewhat short because who wants to read a blog post on crying? I don’t really want to. Last night I started thinking about causes of crying. I came up with shame, fear, loss, frustration, hurt, physical pain, release/relief, when your brother and sister-in-law (Matt and Steph it’s all your fault!) make you laugh way too hard because they’re too funny for their own good, and then there’s that awkward moment when you just finished a huge yawn and it made your eyes all watery and then people glance over just when you finished yawning and think you were tearing up…there are more…

Anyhow, all this pondering was because I had gone on a crying jag and in the middle of it, realized that it was a different kind of crying (release) than the last time (frustration). I also remembered reading something somewhere about how crying can be good for you. Something about stress causing a buildup of chemicals and toxins, and crying is a physical and emotional release of those. This article sums it up nicely, and it makes sense: The Purpose of Crying

tumblr_m6ec12AEQ81qf7otvo1_500

My point? Tears are weird. Emotions are too sometimes. But good. I’m up late. This post is long even though I said it wouldn’t be. So go ahead and cry. I won’t judge. Get those toxins out! It’s healthy. Maybe we can start a health club. Oh wait, someone’s already done that: Participants Ease Stress Levels at Crying Events – The Japan Times

Next blog post: Katie Betts hosts crying sessions, only $160 per session. 🙂

Leave a Reply

